India’s Best Blogs – Collectivity Blog Pick

well, its that time of the week again folks, where collectivity in all its multi chemical addled infinite wisdom picks another one of India’s best blogs!

This blogger seems to be quite unsupposing. Silent, maybe a little introverted. But the clarity of his writing, the insight in his stories, and the sensitivity of his narration tells you – vijayendra is no shrinking violet.

With a clarity of writing, a deep understanding of mythology and an intelligence that denies his (comparatively) young age, this blog deserves to be seen as one of india’s finest young writers. And no, that is NOT overstating the case.

So without further ado, am happy to give you

COLLECTIVITY’S PICK FOR INDIA’S BEST BLOGS

i remember reading his small alternate viewpoints on the ramayan – for example on Ram and laxman building a bridge, or on king dashrath looking at child rama and wondering about governance, and remarking on how much FLAVOR it gives the ramayana i know. The same kind of flavor that “palace of illusions” or “mrityunjay” give to the mahabharata

@vimoh has really really surprised me with his writing, surprised me to the extent that i am amazed he hasn’t done a “mainstream crossover yet”. i put that question, and more to him… (responses to be posted ASAP)

1. You say you’re introverted. Isn’t writing a blog contrary to that?

Introverts are not necessarily shy, actually. They just spend more time inside themselves than extroverts do. ๐Ÿ™‚ Having said that, I should add that blogging requires a certain amount of arrogance. One has to be at least arrogant enough to think that his/her voice deserves to be heard. Blogging, at least the sort that involves thoughts and opinions, is more fitted to the introvert way of life than it is to others. Where else would an introvert find an audience? ๐Ÿ™‚

2. From one “writer” to another – have you considered mainstream options for your work?

I have. I am slowly crawling my way towards being an “author”. Although I take my own sweet time doing everything. ๐Ÿ™‚ These days, I make my living by writing comic book scripts, columns, and articles.

3. What are your inspirations? and your aspirations?

My inspiration is life, plain and simple. I input experiences and output meaning. That is how the machine called me works. ๐Ÿ™‚ As for aspirations, before I die, I want to tell a lot of stories and let the world know how I see it. If I achieve that, I will consider my life well-lived.

4. Aren’t you “scared” to do a ramayan v2.0, what with the RSS, bjp type hooligans around?

The hooligans are actually one of the reasons I do stories like the ones you find in Ramayan 2.0. We can’t allow ignorant ones like them to hijack a heritage as vast and valuable as India’s. THAT would be criminal. I believe that if there is someone out there who is lying about something I care about, it becomes my duty to tell the truth (as opposed to telling them to shut up). The hooligans do what is their dharma. I do what is mine (as a storyteller).

5. define “@vimoh” in 140 characters

It’s a word. Very convenient to identify the person that I am. I keep saying I don’t know who I am. I really mean it. The word vimoh on the other hand, means “enchant”. According to another interpretation, it may also mean “free from attachments”. In addition, it is a shortened version of my full name — VIjayendra MOHanty. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, after the vigil idiot, this is another blog that you really MUST take a look at.

And oh yes – any blogs you guys’ve seen which you think are worth being called india’s best? do leave some links in the comments section!

About Tarun

Joker, smoker, midnight toker. Teacher, writer, general gadabout
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to India’s Best Blogs – Collectivity Blog Pick

  1. vimoh says:

    Thank you very much for the awesome recco Tarun! You are too kind. It is good to find every once in a while that one’s work is appreciated.

    To answer your questions…

    1. You say youโ€™re introverted. Isnโ€™t writing a blog contrary to that?

    Introverts are not necessarily shy, actually. They just spend more time inside themselves than extroverts do. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Having said that, I should add that blogging requires a certain amount of arrogance. One has to be at least arrogant enough to think that his/her voice deserves to be heard. Blogging, at least the sort that involves thoughts and opinions, is more fitted to the introvert way of life than it is to others. Where else would an introvert find an audience? ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. From one โ€œwriterโ€ to another โ€“ have you considered mainstream options for your work?

    I have. I am slowly crawling my way towards being an “author”. Although I take my own sweet time doing everything. ๐Ÿ™‚ These days, I make my living by writing comic book scripts, columns, and articles.

    3. What are your inspirations? and your aspirations?

    My inspiration is life, plain and simple. I input experiences and output meaning. That is how the machine called me works. ๐Ÿ™‚ As for aspirations, before I die, I want to tell a lot of stories and let the world know how I see it. If I achieve that, I will consider my life well-lived.

    4. Arenโ€™t you โ€œscaredโ€ to do a ramayan v2.0, what with the RSS, bjp type hooligans around?

    The hooligans are actually one of the reasons I do stories like the ones you find in Ramayan 2.0. We can’t allow ignorant ones like them to hijack a heritage as vast and valuable as India’s. THAT would be criminal. I believe that if there is someone out there who is lying about something I care about, it becomes my duty to tell the truth (as opposed to telling them to shut up). The hooligans do what is their dharma. I do what is mine (as a storyteller).

    5. define โ€œ@vimohโ€ in 140 characters

    It’s a word. Very convenient to identify the person that I am. I keep saying I don’t know who I am. I really mean it.

    The word vimoh on the other hand, means “enchant”. According to another interpretation, it may also mean “free from attachments”. In addition, it is a shortened version of my full name — VIjayendra MOHanty. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

